Skip to main content

The Results

“Together, we are moving Grenada FORWARD,”

ST. GEORGE’S, Grenada, Jun 23, CMC – The main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) won Thursday’s general elections, according to preliminary results released

The NDC has been declared victor in nine of the 15 seats with the remainder going to the New National Party (NNP) of Prime Minister Dr. Keith Mitchell.

Several government ministers including the Finance Minister Gregory Bowen, the Minister of Legal Affairs, Kindra Mathurin-Stewart, the Minister with responsibility for Forestry and Fisheries, Alvin Da Breo as well as the Minister for Infrastructure Development, Nolan Cox, and  Pamela Moses, the Minister for Information and Communications Technology, all lost their seats in the election.

The NDC leader, Dickon Mitchell, 44, who took over the opposition party in October last year,  defeated Foreign Affairs Minister Oliver Joseph by a margin of 4,414 to 2,742 votes in the St. David constituency.

Earlier, Prime Minister Mitchell comfortably won his St. George North West seat. Mitchell, who called the general election ahead of the constitutional March 2023 deadline, polled 2,211 votes as against 773 for Jonathan LaCrette of the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

In a message posted on its website, the NDC said “we are overwhelmed with gratitude and stand humbled before the Lord our God and you, the people of Grenada, Carriacou & Petite Martinique.

Leave a Reply